Teaching Tolerance

A day with a lot of sunshine. I got up really early to sell some things on the car boot sale. Being there I met a teacher who told me that one day after the song contest and the winning of Conchita Wurst, they had a discussion in the classroom about this event. One of the pupils didn´t like that the woman was a man and gay. So they started speaking about the subject of homosexuality and if gay men could marry. What I really liked was that the teacher said how important it is to be tolerant for other ways of life and the individual way people live and look. – Interesting coincident, as just yesterday I mentioned this issue on the blog, to teach the children to be tolerant!

And my observation today was that I felt relaxed and fine on the market. It was great to be outside in the sunshine with happy people around. Now the life is back again after such a long time of rain. I did not realize too many people behaving funny because of me having a beard. Some days ago I got annoyed, being in a supermarket and a man in his middle age was holding his mobile phone at me – he was either filming or taking pictures. What can I do? Last time someone did it and I told this person that I do not like to be photographed or filmed without my permission, he just denied that he had done so, even it looked so obvious.

I don´t know how many people are getting filmed and photographed while shopping …but somehow I had the wish there would be a law that mobile phones need to stay in the pocket while shopping and that filming and photographing is not allowed.

Perhaps next time I will go up to the person if I notice it again. And if they deny I could call the security…..or  I could go shopping only in a Burka covered with a veil, in order not to be seen 🙂 or cover up my breast and go in as a man?! If all this woudn´t be too much effort I would do. –

On the other hand, I once wrote that the reactions show me where I fit. Big supermarkets, shopping centers, Mc Donalds and so on, is not for me and it is more likely that there are people that might react with the attempt to take a picture of me. Whereas I never had the feeling that I had been filmed by a client in an organic or health food store, and usually these shops are much smaller too.

I just need to stay out of huge stores like Tesco and similar places I guess. Most of my veggies I can order in a veggiebox, but they do not have everything I like and during the week some things might be missing and I end up in the huge supermarkets……..

Should it not be the right of everyone to walk peaceful in the public streets and in all the shopping centers without getting molested?

Leave a Reply

